Sleepy with lots of things to do…

persimmon pudding

Well now that I am into my ninth month of pregnancy I am really feeling the crunch to get things finished for the baby, this has sometimes proven difficult at times as I am also sore and tired!  Luckily I have had a few days, like today, where I woke up with some (I initially wrote lots but realized that compared to non pregnant me that was not quite the right word) of energy and a strong desire to cross things off of my to do list.  I made a second sheet for the wicker bassinet that I made the wool blanket mattress for, unstuffed, washed the cover for, and then restuffed with fresh stuffing for the hand me down Boppy pillow that I have had sitting around for months, AND I found time to make a double batch of persimmon pudding!  If you are not from the midwest you may not be familure with persimmon pudding but it is something I grew up eating and every fall I look forward to it.  One of our neighbors apparently has a persimmon tree and gifted us with 5 persimmons so I decided to break out the family recipe and give it a go.  Here is the recipe;

Doud Family Persimmon Pudding

1/2 and 1 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter

2 eggs

1 cup persimmon pulp

2 cups sour milk *(more on this below)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

2 cups flour

Cream the butter and 1/2 cup sugar together and add the eggs slightly beaten and the persimmon pulp.

combine 1 cup sugar, flour, and cinnamon in another bowl

add the baking soda to the sour milk and then add all of the ingredients together including the vanilla

pour into a 9×13 inch baking pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour

After you bake the pudding top with fresh whipped cream or vanilla ice-cream.

*This go around I didn’t have enough milk so substituted four cream for some of the milk which I think I will just do in the future.  Previously I have used a recipe I found online to sour the milk by adding 1 Tbs white vinegar or lemon juice to 1 cup of milk and that has worked well.  This is an old recipe so I am not sure exactly how previous generations have done the sour milk so just play with various ways to do it until you find what you like best.

Leave a Reply

